Accreditation Eligibility

Review the following questions to determine if your program meets the criteria to apply for accreditation. The IHEAC accredits programs at accredited institutions of higher education (IHE) that serve students with intellectual disability (ID) as defined in the Higher Education Opportunity Act of 2008 (as amended, HEA).

Programs must meet all the criteria to apply for accreditation.

To apply for accreditation, the program must:­­

  1. be located at and operated by an accredited public or nonprofit private IHE

  2. serve students with ID as defined in the HEA

  3. meet the criteria for a Comprehensive Transition and Postsecondary Program (CTP) in the HEA. (The program does not need to be an approved CTP program.)

  4. be operating for at least three consecutive years immediately prior to application

  5. graduate a minimum of two cohorts of students

  6. award an educational credential issued by the IHE (e.g., degree, certificate, or non-degree credential)

If you have questions about whether your program meets these criteria, contact us at:

Readiness for embarking on the accreditation process also involves ensuring support and internal administrative approval to undergo the accreditation process and identifying the support you will need to pursue the accreditation process.

Depending on your program’s readiness, the full pre-accreditation and accreditation process could take 12– 24 months. We provide an overview of the process in Section 2 of the Guide.

Last updated